Life As I See It

Out of the mouths of Babes

17a.jpgI was 20 when I had my daughter.  A child raising a child.   I was still watching Seseme Street for crying out loud.  I didn’t know the first thing about parenting.  Not that there is a rule book.  people tend to worry about what other people think.  I just did the best I could.  I’m not the best parent.  I try to teach my children,  Honesty, Respect, Manners, Independence.  When they are all grown up you look back and say to yourself, “what did I do wrong, was there anything else I could of done, did I teach them the right things.

My daughter 21 and a nanny (that’s what they are called now, when we were young it was just babysitter) for an eight year old boy.  I had to stop there the other day.  I met Ian, a shy, cute little boy. He said to me “You raised a nice person”. Do you believe that, eight years old. At that very moment I knew that a child raising a child wasn’t so bad.  I truly,  must not of done such a bad job.  And everything that I thought I taught her, she really must of learned.

Danielle just had her first daughter.  I hope everything that I taught her, she teaches her daughter. Because apPARENTly she is wonderful person.  

One response

  1. Joe

    IMHO, it’s not what you ‘do’ that makes one a good parent. Its the dont’s and the not’s. Its the things you dont do, its the hurt you dont cause, its the luxuries you dont afford yourself for their sake, and most of all, its in not being a monster. If your child’s grown up to be half as messed up as you were at her age because you were there to tell her what the dont’s are, your job is more than adequately done… (jus saying!)

    August 20, 2008 at 12:51 pm

Leave a Reply

