Life As I See It

Doing the Right Thing

Our character…is an omen of our destiny, and the more integrity we have and keep, the simpler and nobler that destiny is likely to be.
George Santayana, “The German Mind: A Philosophical 

I like to think of myself as someone with integrity. I’m not a liar and really don’t like people who do lie. I will lie only for an absolute good reason. (which isn’t too often to save my ass) If you don’t ask, then I won’t tell. Some may consider that lying, and some don’t. I believe in speaking the truth, even if one doesn’t want to hear it. I do,  always try to be compassionate. What I’m really trying to say is,  that usally  you can trust what I say.

Yesterday I took my mom to the hospital for some pre-op testing. I dropped her off at the elevator and preceded to park my car. Anyone who knows me, has the wisdom,  that I either park a mile away or find a very expensive car to park next to. This is all due to the fact, that my husband has an obsession (passion) with his cars and if I come home with a scratch or dent I will never hear the end of it. So I do everything in my power to avoid this confliction. I came upon two spaces to park in. One next to a beautifully shiny corvette or a scratch up, peely paint generic 1980 something car. You are right. I chose the corvette. When I came out to leave there was a yellow paper on my windsheild. The note read, that being parked so close to my corvette it seems that someone opening the back door hit his side mirror and put blue paint on it. Please call to discuss repairs. I called that very minute. I assured  Stanley (that was his name) that being so close to his car that I took every precaution in getting out of my car. In no way did I even brush up against his car.

His reply was “As you can see I take very good care of my car, I check it twice a day and the blue paint wasn’t there in the morning.

“I can see that, sir. One of my reasons for parking next to you. I figured you wouldn’t bang my car. And I’m telling you I know that I didn’t touch your car.

“Well not to be blunt” he said ” But I thought that might be your answer”

Apparently he doesn’t have the wisdom that all my friends and family have, when I say I didn’t do it. Then I didn’t do it. I did ask him what gave him the assumtion that it was my back door that did it. He said that when he checked it out, that opening my back door, came in alignment with his mirror. My response was “Sir I was alone, nobody opened my back door. He didn’t know what to say.

CHARACTER, INTEGRITY, HONESTY, STRAIGHTFORWARD, TRUSTWORTHY, RESPECTFUL, VERIFIABLE, UNDISGUISED, FACTUAL, GENUINE, SINCERE, MARALITY, GOODNESS, VIRTUE, CONSCIENCE.

I don’t really expect him to believe me. The society in which we live in today doesn’t allow us to believe in anyone. It’s a fact, or, so, I believe it to be true. With all the wars, and the crimes, and the politics, and priests molesting.  Huh, you can’t even believe what your President says, these days. Where is the simple life when you can “trust thy neighbor” You can’t even trust the man you park next to. What is this world coming to.

I have to live with myself. so as long as I know in my heart that I’m the person that I think I am, then I can go to bed at night knowing all is well.

 

2 responses

  1. Oh, please. You HAVE TO give up your blog address. This is good shit! (Oh, can I swear in here?)

    April 26, 2007 at 10:33 pm

  2. I live the same way.

    “Be true to thy own self.”

    My actions and words don’t always settle with others, but as long as they settle with me, then I’m good.

    And I always fess up to when I’ve done something wrong or have hurt someone. If I don’t, I can’t sleep with myself. My slate has to be cleared at the end of every day.

    April 27, 2007 at 7:50 am

Leave a Reply

