Life As I See It

Never Judge A Book By It’s Cover

Most people will judge someone before they even get to know them.  First impressions are what we call them.  Gut feelings, maybe.  I’m not a conventional person who dislikes someone at a first encounter.  But first impressions do make an impact and remain with you for a very long time. 

In the summer I work for a pool company on the main line.  I meet many different kinds of people each day.  Some come into the store only once and some keep coming back.  First impressions play a big part in the way people are judged, so I always try to give the person the benefit of the doubt.  You never know what circumstances are involved that day, so it’s always nice to keep an open mind.  

I distincly dislike people who are rude and obnoxious.  That first impression is something I don’t give anyone a second chance for.  I have no time for antic behavior.  Some people who come in are very friendly and polite.  They ask a question. You give them the answer. They buy what they need you talk for a few minutes and off they go.  A very sociable first impression I like that.  Then there are people who come in that leave a first impression of frustration and irritability.  What I really mean by that is annoyance.  They don’t know what they want. They don’t take your advice and they waste your time.  That first impression lingers and everytime they walk in I flinch with frustration.  On the other hand some people are quiet and submissive. They come in and ask for what they want you try to converse but there is no idle chitchat. You feel intimidated, maybe inferior to this person. 

I have a customer who has been coming in for the past three years or so.  My first impression of him was intimidation.  When people don’t respond to my words then I feel threatened.  A couple of days ago I made a comment that sparked a conversation and we sat in the store and talked for an hour.  It was very relaxing and refreshing. I think that I talked to him more that day then I have for the three years he has been a customer.  I was honest and told him that he intimidated me and his response was that a few people he knew said the same thing.  He wandered why I wasn’t threaten then.  Well, you took the time to listen to what I had to say.  We had a common interest and we talked about it.  You made me feel comfortable and content.

 A lesson I’ve learned, never judge a book by it’s cover.  You never know what’s on the inside until you open it up. 

9 responses

  1. It makes it much easier to open a door when, on the other side there is someone looking in.

    June 18, 2007 at 8:54 pm

  2. spanky

    I wear sunglasses in stores and pretend i am invisable. I have issues. obviously.

    June 19, 2007 at 8:02 am

  3. spank, issues, talk to me about issues.

    June 19, 2007 at 11:31 am

  4. you seem like one of the most normal people I’ve listened to in a while. To me anyway, maybe I’m not normal either. We should meet.

    June 19, 2007 at 11:34 am

  5. Pingback: We Go Together « A Different Kind of World

  6. “I distincly dislike people who are rude and obnoxious”

    How on earth have the two of us gotten along for so long now?

    December 17, 2010 at 7:19 am

    • There are many definitions for the word rude. Number one in the on line dictionary is”discourteous or impolite, esp. in a deliberate way”

      This is not us. It’s very rare to find someone who gets or appreciates the same kind of morbid humor we both share.

      Gees, how long has it been now? Two years?

      December 19, 2010 at 11:21 pm

      • We’re nearing the end of the third in fact.

        Our third anniversary so to speak.

        You can make a paypal donation in upwards of $500 as a cash gift, no sweat.

        In return, I promise to annoy the living fuck outta you for the next 3 yrs.

        December 20, 2010 at 3:09 am

  7. We are at the end of our second year in fact. I started my blog in April of 2007. You didn’t find me until a whole year and a half after that. I believe sometime at the end of the summer probably 2008 which brings us two years later.

    It was probably about six months before you moved back home.

    I’m sure it’s only two years.

    You can take your 500.00 and….

    December 20, 2010 at 7:52 am

Leave a Reply

