Life As I See It

The Blind Leading The Blind….

Have you ever wanted something so bad that you would do anything to get it.  That dream of someday it will happen.  Well I have been dreaming of having lasik eye correction for quite some time.  My eye vision isn’t that great and I have a really bad astigmatism, making it hard for contact lens to fit comfortably.  This past year was one of the most difficult, always seeing blurry and not being able to focus is a big annoyance. 

I guess by now most of you know that my biggest fear is death, I’m also afraid of going blind.  I have worn glasses since I was in second grade and with each year my eyes grew worse.  Last year my eye Doctor told me that due to my age and my astigmatism getting worse that I may have to consider wearing glasses on  a full time basis.  Well that’s not an option for me because wearing my Glasses are as annoying as bury contact lens, even worse because it’s hard for me to judge distance at night.  This is when I considered lasik eye correction. 

So any hoot, I go to my appointment on Wednesday to see if I’m a candidate.  Not to my surprise, they can’t so the surgery.  The doctor said that the curvature of my eye was not normal.  She also said that most of the time this is due to wearing contacts lens and she wants me to wear my glasses for three weeks, then come back for another evaluation. 

I just took my lens out for what is going to be the longest three fucking weeks of my life.  It’s hard for me to last a day, just for the fact that they weigh heavy on my face and give me a headache.  Is it worth it?  Damn straight it is.  Bob asked when I got home what the percentage was that I would have the surgery.  I didn’t ask and I didn’t care, she said “most of the time” that was good enough for me.  Even if it is only ten percent, it’s worth it to me.  I don’t think anyone knows what it feels like to go through life day after day in discomfort.   

So here is how it is going to go down.  I made my appointment for September 28, it’s a Friday, I have an ulterior motive.  I go in at 10:00am.  They are going to do the evaluation again, if I am a candidate they will do the surgery immediately following the exam.  If I am not a candidate I will be very, very disappointed and one drunk mother fucker with a God damn brand new wardrobe and a some new shoes, too.  Thirty five hundred dollars should go pretty far.  I wonder how many shoes I can buy with that, hmmm…..

Or…….That’s only fifteen hundred dollars away from the boob job I want.  New clothes and shoes or boob job.  Decisions, decisions, what should I do….

6 responses

  1. spanky

    eye stuff scares the crap outta me

    September 10, 2007 at 8:03 am

  2. I feel your pain, Cap! I wear contacts for distance – can’t see squat! and then reading glasses for up close work – took me 10 minutes to thread a needle theother day! The astigmatism is a problem for sure. The other night I got called into work at 2:30 am. I wore my glasses instead of popping the lenses in – I was terrified at how bad my vision had become. Keep me posted.
    Lotso prayers your way –

    September 11, 2007 at 10:21 am

  3. I’ve been doing OK during the day with driving. It’s the night that I’m worried about. just have to be careful

    September 11, 2007 at 1:11 pm

  4. Oh, Cappy, I’m so excited for you! I sooo hope it works out. My sister and I are both dying for lasiks. I stopped wearing contacts in 1994, but my sister still wears them. The 3 weeks of glasses was killing her. She only ever wears her glasses at night before bed, so when she was wearing them for the 3 weeks she had this Pavlovian response where she’s get super-sleepy. It got better. But she didn’t make it. She and her husband decided to screen in their porch for the summer. So…the lasiks is on hold.

    September 15, 2007 at 11:46 am

  5. Thanks Julie, one week down, two more to go. Keep your fingers crossed and hope for the best. It’s such a dream for me right now, I can’t even fathom being able to see without a crutch. It’s been part of my whole life.

    September 15, 2007 at 2:23 pm

  6. SunShine~Nicole

    Well tomorrow is the big day!!! Are you ready???

    September 27, 2007 at 2:30 pm

Leave a Reply

