Life As I See It

Christmas Blues

Each year my holiday spirit seems to diminish.  I’m not a scrooge, and far from it.  It’s just that the real meaning of Christmas is hiding in the shopping malls with all the ignorant people who are really not sure why they are there except to but a gift for someone they probably don’t even like. 

It seems to be a chore for most people and by all means shopping is no chore, it’s a gift.  I like to give gifts from the heart and not because I have to or because people expect it but because it makes me feel good.  If just for one year we didn’t give gifts, except the gift of love what would people do?  What would these spoiled rotten kids do if I gave them a gift made from my heart? 

A few weeks ago I interrupted a conversation between two co-workers.  Why?  Because I’m nosy and wanted to know why one was thanking the other for the gift she gave her.  Turns out that she was feeling unhappy about something so the other gave her a gift to help make her to feel better. 

Well of course I had to ask where my present was because I wasn’t feeling happy at the time either.  But then again when am I happy.  Any hoot, we laughed about it and didn’t think anything of it.  The next day there sitting on my desk was a gift bag and guess what was in it?  The best freaking gift I could ever receive <a href=”https://capricorn1966.wordpress.com/2007/06/04/angels-101-2/“>besides this one,<a/> , 3 avocados, and do you know why that was the best gift because well over a year ago when I use to have lunch at work I would bring avocados, slice them down, sprinkle them with olive oil, feta cheese, garlic salt and munch them down.  The best gift of all was that she remember so long ago that I love avocados.  She bought them for me to make me feel better and sure enough she did.  (FYI cash WILL do the same thing)

So it’s December 5th, I have not put up any Christmas decorations or have not done any shopping. 

Oh, I did buy a pair of shoes, black boots, three pair of pants, a sweater, necklace and bracelet.

Merry Christmas to me. 

5 responses

  1. Keyser Soze

    Cappy I know how you feel I always get caught up in the agony of you buy me something I don’t want or need and I’ll do the same for you, oh and bye the way I won’t make my car payment this month to do it. I am truely blessed not to be in that position but I know many who are.

    I recentley came through a flat spot of being sick and feeling a little bit like its the same old same old my f’in life sucks.

    I had lunch yesterday with my friend Mark and he reminded me what I already knew. How am I being of service to others? Its all god asks of me. When my day is spent looking for opportunities to be of service to others my world rocks. When I look at what’s in it for me I lose. My vision as a human is to limited to see gods will but when I do for others I am givin back ten fold. Wehn I spend my time trying to align my will with the big guys it all just flows.

    Gotta go…….. help some one

    December 7, 2007 at 11:10 am

  2. Leave it to Keyser to shed some light – and he didn’t even mention his ball sack!

    December 8, 2007 at 10:03 am

  3. Keyser, thanks for understanding most people think I’m selfish, self centered and I always want things to go my way. Although, this may be true on the other hand I’m the most giving and thoughtful person you would want to know. This upsets my husband because I always give and never receive, I tell him that’s not what it’s all about. I am however very vengeful when someone crosses me, I never forget and I would never, ever do another thing for that person again. That’s just how it rolls…

    I make it a point to do one good deed a day. Whether it’s helping an old lady in the grocery store or just letting some one go next in line. It does make me feel good.

    Just like the gift I gave you, did it make you laugh? Did it make you feel good, maybe a day that things weren’t going quite so good? Putting a smile on your face for one split second made me feel good inside. And the point is I wasn’t made to do it, I don’t expect something in return. (cough,cough,cash) That’s what it’s all about.

    December 8, 2007 at 11:25 am

  4. Matt

    Hello!

    I am contacting you because I am working with the authors of a book about blogs, and I’d like to request permission to use the photograph you have posted in this book. Please contact me at matt@wefeelfine.org, and I’d be happy to give you more information about the project. Please paste a link to your blog in the subject field. Your assistance is greatly appreciated.

    Sincerely,

    Matt

    June 2, 2008 at 6:37 pm

  5. Pingback: Do You Remember… « A Different Kind of World

Leave a Reply

