Life As I See It

Good Bye

We shall find peace. We shall hear the angels, we shall see the sky sparkling with diamonds.
Anton Chekhov, 1897
 

Dear Steve, 

Someone may say to you, “Kris P. was at your benefit, did you see her” and you’re going to say, “no I didn’t,” that’s because I couldn’t find the right words to comfort you at a time like this or I thought maybe you may not even remember who I was and wonder why I was there.   

 However, that couldn’t be the case, since I was part of your furniture for quite some time.  You and your family are a big part on my childhood memories.  Mike use to tease Rose and me, and you were the one who saved us.  Therefore, the Steven that I remember some thirty years ago has the strength and courage to overcome any obstacles that he may endure.  You will always be in my thoughts and prayers.  God Bless You.  

I’m glad I was a part of your night out.  Thank You. Take Care 

Kris 

I wrote this six months ago after attending a benefit for a childhood friend’s brother.  I was very close to the family growing up and thought the only right thing to do was attend the benefit.  Steve has been battling cancer for some time now.  The letter was never sent.  He died Saturday.  I know he’s at peace.  

2 responses

  1. Heather

    May God bless the friendships through which He reveals Himself to us. Really beautiful, Kris. Peace to you.

    March 18, 2008 at 3:22 am

  2. Thank You, Heather. even though you’ve been out of touch with a friend for thirty years there always seem to be a special connection with a childhood friend then there is with you present friends.

    March 18, 2008 at 9:00 am

Leave a Reply

