Life As I See It

My First Date

“Go through your phone book, call people and ask them to drive you to the airport. The ones who will drive you are your true friends. The rest aren’t bad people; they’re just acquaintances”  jay Leno

Weather I’ve known them all my life or worked with them for  several years or only met them once or never met them at all, I consider them my friends.  I would do anything for a friend no matter how long I’ve known them.  This is a quality that has haunted me my whole life.  It’s not a gift to be so kind and thoughtful.  It really isn’t because in the end you’re the one who gets hurt.  You’re the one who will do unto others and others don’t do for you.  Yes, it is rewarding to do kind things, don’t get me wrong, sometimes it doesn’t always work out the way you want it to. 

My husband hates this about me.  He says I’m too kind, he says that I’m amazing.  I can’t argue the fact, can I?  He doesn’t like to see me get hurt and that’s usually what happens, not many people are like me.  Well, except one that I know of.

MamaPeg is an E-friend.  I’ve been blogging with her for almost a year, not very consistent, she’s a very busy woman so she floats in and out of our blogs like the blog fairy.  I’ve learned over the past year that she truly is an amazing woman.  She has a family that she absolutely adores, she likes to write, she sings and plays a guitar, she loves her church, I even know what’s on her night stand next to her bed. 

Recently, I’ve learned though an e-mail that she was singing at a wedding.  Oh!  A wedding did you say, Michele is getting married and for some reason she thinks it’s part of our culture but anyway when she inquired about a string instrument they ranged from $250 to $500, so when I heard that Peg was singing in a wedding I emailed her right away.  She got back to me and we worked out the details and I said, “are you sure this is what you want.”

“Anything for a friend.” 

What an amazing woman, she probably doesn’t even know how much, deep in my heart this means to me and not for the obligation but simply because she doing it for a “friend”.  That’s special to me. 

So, Saturday I’m off to see Peg sing and I’m going to meet her for the first time.  I feel like it’s a first date.  My hands are sweaty, my heart is pounding and I have butterflies in my stomach.  Just like when I met you, Spank. 

Friends are truly amazing, when you have the right ones.

8 responses

  1. Heather

    Awesome. Just make sure she doesn’t slip anything in your drink. You must keep an eye on her at all times!

    March 27, 2008 at 2:11 pm

  2. This was like watching the Waltons, which makes me cry every time it’s on. The theme song alone prompts welling. But the thing that makes me weep to the Waltons is the raw human nature of the old-time mountain dwellers. And that’s what touched me in this post.

    “Anything for a friend.”

    Wow. Of course I knew that about Cap, but I didn’t think there were other people out there like her. Seriously. I don’t even ask for help anymore because everyone’s too busy or selfish. Come to think of, no one asks me to help them either. I would like to think I’d respond with the line above, but I’m not that good of a person. The good things that I do for people, I force myself to do because I know in my heart, my hand is not out there enough for friends and family or even just someone who needs my help.

    Whew! I didn’t see that coming.

    Have a super day with Mama Peg and give her my love!

    March 27, 2008 at 10:44 pm

  3. Sissy, I think you sell yourself short. It’s not about asking for help or doing kind things out of charity. It’s about doing kind things out of the goodness of your heart just because deep down in your heart you really like that person.

    for instance if you weren’t in walking distance from your home and say, your sliding door on your car fell off and we were on the phone talking for some reason about Eddie Izzard tickets, I would divert my travels to come pick up you and the kids and take you home. Well because that’s just me and poor Hazel’s cast is to heavy to carry and Claire might not be 100% feeling better and Zoey would just look at you and say, I don’t think so mom.

    And then you would owe me another year’s worth of chubby cheese steaks.

    March 28, 2008 at 7:36 am

  4. But, as kind and generous and thoughtful as I am, I can turn that quick and be just as manipulative and evil and deceitful. Grrr…

    March 28, 2008 at 9:37 am

  5. That’s awesome.

    And remember, it puts the lotion on its skin.

    March 28, 2008 at 10:37 am

  6. Aw – Cappy thanks for the kind words. And I can’t wait to meet you and, yes, it is like a first date! Only thing is I have a cold so one of my friends offered to come help ME out! See – friend to friend to friend. It’s like Pay it Forward only no one dies.

    March 29, 2008 at 2:03 pm

  7. fishgrip

    I’m glad other people are experiencing what it is to love and be loved by Mama Peg. Isn’t she THE BEST?! She’s the real goods. The creme de la creme. I love your post about your first date, Cappy. I stumbled upon it because I was just telling a friend yesterday that I needed to write about my first date. I hadn’t actually done so yet, but figured it so ironic that you had a posted such a title. Then to find out it was about Peggi made me smile and feel all warm and tingly inside (like Plankton). She has that effect on people.

    🙂

    April 1, 2008 at 3:08 pm

  8. thanks for stopping by, fish. I’m glad you enjoyed it. So you just stumbled upon this post by accident not knowing that it was connected to MamaPeg? It’s a sign. Not sure what yet. but yes she is special and I don’t even thinks she minds my bad words.

    April 1, 2008 at 7:11 pm

Leave a Reply

