Life As I See It

Fact Or Fiction

There are three subjects in my opinion that are a bit touchy to talk about.  Politics, religion and parenting.  There really isn’t a right or wrong answer.  Everyone has their own opinion and if you’re not on the same page then talking about such things can end up in a heated debate and can some times be hurtful.  I don’t know much on politics and since I have a child with a disability, I think that governs me to voice my strong opinion on parenting and education.  As far as religion goes, I never knew there were so many opinions to be heard. 

Today I heard this advertisement on the radio. 

Evolution, it’s a fact.  We don’t like to lie to our children so support your Christian schools.  We have the highest academic scores…yada, yada yada…don’t quote me, I only heard this ad once and can’t remember exactly how it went, except for the first line, but you’ll get the gist of it <a href=”http://christianschools.com/MessageCenter.aspx”>here</a&gt;

I value every one’s opinion and they have a right to it but after hearing this ad, I didn’t feel really good about it.  I don’t like to be lectured to and that is how I felt, it was very disturbing.  Don’t tell me that my God is different then yours.  Don’t tell me that I have to go to church to pray.  Don’t tell me that the wrong I do in my life out weighs the good.  Don’t tell me that I should go to a christian school to be taught the truth verses lies. 

I’m not a good christian.  I was, once.  I was a catholic all through elementary school, receiving my First Holy Communion and getting ready for my confirmation when our priest wouldn’t give my father his last rights because he didn’t attend church in which my Nana gave her heart and soul to.  My dad pulled through and my mom told the catholic church to fuck off and we started to attend a Methodist church.  I went to church every Sunday, attended Sunday School and belonged to the youth group.  I went on retreats and did community service until my early years of High School.

Evolution?  I was never good in school so I don’t know much on the subject.  I know what it is but I also know what I was taught in Sunday school.  After my daughter started college, majoring in science, she told me she didn’t believe in God.  I was devastated.  I thought I didn’t do my job as a parent to guide her on her spiritual journey.  It took me a long time to ingest this and then came to realize that not everyone is the same.  Although I’m not religious, I am spiritual.  My daughter is fact.  Everything in her mind is right or wrong, black or white and nothing in between.  I find there are more people like her in this world today and who am I to judge them. 

Who are the Christians to judge them?

Who is anyone to judge people’s opinion?

Not me, not you, not the government and sure as hell not Paul Richter.  So he can take his advertisement and shove it up his ass. 

I believe in God.  I believe in prayer.  I believe in myself.

I also believe I’m going to hell unless my last week on earth is enough time for redemption.

 

 

 

 

 

9 responses

  1. Heather

    I think you’re a very good Christian if being Christian means loving God and your neighbor and whatnot. I get Christ from you. Maybe it’s the lavender. IDK. All I know is, “Preach it, St. Cappacella.”

    April 17, 2008 at 12:00 pm

  2. Heather

    I generally go with “God’s not a dick.” Hooray for crossed fingers!

    April 17, 2008 at 12:02 pm

  3. I haven’t done the religion/bible thing in a long time so listening to other people voice their opinion on it makes me think.

    But I do know one thing that I believe in God or something.

    It’s faith. How can you live without it? Yeah it’s believing in something that is not there but that’s what it’s all about.

    April 17, 2008 at 12:27 pm

  4. Heather

    It’s about George Michael shaking his ass on the t.v. and getting arrested for the solicitation! Is what it is!

    April 17, 2008 at 1:24 pm

  5. he was arrested? For shaking his ass? Faith has failed him.

    April 17, 2008 at 9:43 pm

  6. here

    Copy this but take the space out between the

    April 17, 2008 at 10:06 pm

  7. crap.

    it didn’t show you the code.

    April 17, 2008 at 10:07 pm

  8. This is a really great post. I was also raised Catholic. I also consider myself to be spiritual and not religious. (This is common in the blog world.) The only thing I ask of others is not pushing their beliefs on me. THAT irritates me and makes me judge them.

    April 17, 2008 at 10:14 pm

  9. Thanks Lucky.

    My links show like that in comments and I had no problem in my posts but after changing the format, I can’t seem to get it right. I’m not doing anything different.

    April 18, 2008 at 8:00 am

Leave a Reply

