Life As I See It

Broke Back Again

Every year I sit at my desk staring out the window watching the large trailers go by filled with horses.    This is the sign that the Devon Horse show is back in town.  The fair grounds are situated two blocks from where I work in Devon and are used for various events.   The Devon Horse Show has been running since 1896 and is the biggest horse show in the country.   

Last weekend, May 9th and 10th, for the very first time The Liberty Gay Rodeo Association will be featuring a rodeo at the same grounds.  Some people say, “What is this world coming to, bringing those kinds of people to our town.”

I say, “Gay rodeo?  What the fuck, no one told me there’s a gay rodeo.”  This would have been the perfect Mother’s Day gift ever and now it’s too late. 

We would of seen things like steer riding, bull riding, bareback bronc riding and yes folks let’s not forget the good ole chute dogging. 
Coors Light, ID Lubricants, Enterprise and HomoRodeo.com are just a few companies that sponsors The Liberty Gay Rodeo Association.  I guess that makes sense, get drunk, lube up and drive off in the sunset.  But who am I to speculate.  

I don’t single people out and judge them for who they are or what they do, I’m an equal opportunist, I treat every one with the same tasteless cruelty.  But that’s just me.

And don’t forget on June 8th, Philadelphia Gay Pride, The Liberty Association will have a booth set up and will also participate in the parade.  

Hope to see everyone there.

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 responses

  1. Heather

    I say, “Gay rodeo? What the fuck, no one told me there’s a gay rodeo.”

    That’s the funniest thing I’ve read all day. Hoo hoo.

    May 16, 2008 at 12:46 pm

  2. michele and nikki went down to Penn’s landing last year and there was a big shindig going they got all excited and after walking around for 20 minutes they realized that everyone there was gay.

    May 16, 2008 at 1:21 pm

  3. Gay is good.

    May 16, 2008 at 10:16 pm

  4. Yeah, Mama, I don’t have a problem with it.

    May 17, 2008 at 8:10 pm

Leave a Reply

