Life As I See It

Living With Attention Deficit

This morning, I watched a segment on The Today Show about Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder in adults.  More and more adults are finding out that they’ve been living with this disorder all their lives.  Why weren’t they diagnosed as children?  I can tell you one reason.

Hyperactivity doesn’t always accompany Attention Deficit Disorder, in children, especially in girls.  No one notices a child who is quiet and isn’t disruptive, hence, there’s no problem.  They may have difficulty with their studies all through school but as long as you just get by and stay out of trouble, then nothing is said.  

I know this because I’m one of the ones who wasn’t diagnosed until my mid thirties.  I always new I was different then most people, that something didn’t work quite right in my brain.  After elementary school things got a little tougher so I became the class clown and through high school it didn’t matter cause I was always high.    

The man they interviewed on The Today Show was just diagnosed with ADHD, and they ask him what is most difficult about living with this disorder?  He responded, “The most difficult, um….long pause…I would, uh, say, um, conversation.”  “And exactly for that reason,” he replied. “I had to repeat the question and then think about what I’m wanted to say and it still came out wrong.”

I have to agree with him and this was one of the reasons I sought professional help.  Conversation is the most difficult because the brain can’t find the words and put them together the way they’re suppose to be, hence they come out jumbled and you look stupid.  The other was daydreaming.  It’s fine when you’re sitting at your desk and staring out the window but when you’re driving and you don’t know how you got from point A to point B then there’s a problem.  I’m one of the lucky ones who hasn’t encountered many accidents in my life but being impulsive I have come very close. 

I’m glad to see that there has been more recognition on this subject because it’s not something that is made up in our heads.  It’s real and it’s hard to live with and no one understands that. 

Maybe if I had the right kind of help I would of went to college. 

5 responses

  1. Heather

    Ah, you still can, lady. College hasn’t gone anywhere.

    June 7, 2008 at 2:16 pm

  2. Yeah, but the old bitch doesn’t have the motivation. I took a non credit creative writing class last fall and that was tough enough.

    June 7, 2008 at 6:27 pm

  3. Heather

    Word.

    June 8, 2008 at 11:11 am

  4. what does word mean again?

    June 8, 2008 at 12:10 pm

  5. Heather

    It means “Yeah!”

    June 8, 2008 at 7:18 pm

Leave a Reply

