Life As I See It

Grandchildren Complete Life’s Circle Of Love

My daughter was just finishing up her second year in college when she told me she was pregnant. That morning, she called me at work to ask if I was coming right home. I could tell in her voice that she had something important to tell me. I got a little excited for just a moment thinking maybe she got engaged. But only for a moment and then something inside me started to churn as if the life was being sucked out of me.

I forced her to tell me over the phone and then the churning turned into a gut wrenching pain that didn’t go away for three months. I cried myself to sleep every night for weeks. I couldn’t fathom being 40, let alone being a grandmother.

I only wanted the best for my daughter and that meant finishing college. I didn’t want her struggling the way I did after having her at 20. She kept her promise and is still going to college. I have the most beautiful granddaughter now and I can’t fathom living life without her.

And how could I when I come home every day and she greets me like this. She definitely has stolen my heart. I Love her to death.

2 responses

  1. Yah – even when they whine, they’re cute! She’s a keeper!

    July 2, 2008 at 9:15 pm

  2. Peg, I look at her and I can’t believe the love I could have for this one child. It’s so overwhelming. She takes my breath away.

    July 2, 2008 at 10:00 pm

Leave a Reply

