Life As I See It

Gram’s Are The Best

My husband’s side of the family never calls and tells us anything.   When my Grand-mom, or should I say, Grand mom in-law had bladder cancer four years ago and had to have it removed no one called to let us know.  When the cancer moved to her colon and she had to have that removed, no one called.  when she had to have the cancer removed from her lung, no one called.  

So when my sister in law called me yesterday and asked if her father had called me, I said, “no.  Why what’s wrong.” 

I knew it was serious. 

She told me that my Grand mom was in the hospital and they were flying her to University of Pennsylvania because she had a tumor in her trachea and she couldn’t breathe.  The hospital she was in couldn’t do the surgery because they thought it was cancer and they weren’t equipped to do laser surgery.  If it was cancer and they did the surgery she would of bled to much and probably wouldn’t of made it. 

My Gram is 87 years old and just as exuberant as she was 20 years ago.  She lives alone and is completely independent.  She still drives.  She attends socials for single people.  She gave up being an Avon representative a few years ago, after, I don’t know, fifty years.  Gram says Avon is what keeps her young.  She has 5 children, 12 grandchildren, 10 great grandchildren and 1 great great grandchild, yes that would be my Lexi.  For Christ sake she was out polka dancing Saturday night.  

So when the doctor came out of surgery and told us she was fine we were beyond astonishment.  It wasn’t cancer.  It was a polyp that obstructed her airway, giving her a pin hole of breathing space.  She went home today.  She even flirted with the doctor when he came in the room to check on her after the surgery.  That rascal.

She’ll probably out live all of us.

42 responses

  1. Joe

    why has K C gone into hiding???? nananana the hunter’s gone into hiding!

    October 23, 2008 at 5:25 am

  2. You’re a bitch

    October 23, 2008 at 6:40 am

  3. Joe

    guilty as charged. proud of it too!

    October 23, 2008 at 6:48 am

  4. That makes two of us and it’s not the hunter that’s hiding it’s the coward behind the bar

    October 23, 2008 at 6:51 am

  5. Reveal yourself. I demand you. Fucker.

    October 23, 2008 at 6:55 am

  6. Joe

    i never said i wanted to be found. you chose to hunt. and now the hunter’s been hunted. bwahaha im lovin it!!

    BWAHAHAHAHAHHAAAAA “Ill find you” she said earlier!! BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!! eat that, boogie!

    October 23, 2008 at 6:58 am

  7. Well I did find you. Didn’t I? you’re just being a whiny cry baby about it. Don’t blame the onions.

    October 23, 2008 at 7:01 am

  8. Joe

    nope you didn’t. you sent an invitation. thats a new account. lol. finding me as is, is a different story altogether.

    you can throw all the onions and accusations you want, but bottom line is, you have been defeated. victory is mine. to the bar, belongs the spoils. again, before i let you rest in the shame and stench of defeat, lemme say: BWAHAHAHA

    there, nicely wrapped up now, this conversation is.

    October 23, 2008 at 7:04 am

  9. you’re right the response I got was from an invitation not the one I found.

    October 23, 2008 at 7:09 am

  10. Joe

    lol. sob, im weeping tears of amazement at how good i am at this!

    October 23, 2008 at 7:11 am

  11. don’t pat yourself on the back just yet.

    October 23, 2008 at 7:17 am

  12. You’re not that good. You just have a little and I mean, just a little, upper hand. My job, of persuasion, is a little tougher.

    October 23, 2008 at 7:19 am

  13. Joe

    lol lol lol, im not stopping there. im patting myself on the back, and dancing for joy, and throwin a party to celebrate it.

    why do things by half measures when i can go the whole hog?

    October 23, 2008 at 7:20 am

  14. If you’ve done your homework you know I don’t stop. So bring it on…I’m ready.

    You won’t be dancing for long.

    October 23, 2008 at 7:24 am

  15. Cause when I find you, I’ll cut your legs off.

    October 23, 2008 at 7:24 am

  16. Joe

    bwahahahaha, its not a question of WHEN hun, its a question of IF

    October 23, 2008 at 7:27 am

  17. No, babe, in my book it’s WHEN. guess you haven’t done your homework. I don’t really like to lose.

    October 23, 2008 at 7:30 am

  18. Joe

    nobody likes to lose.

    but it happens. sometimes the hunter becomes the hunted.

    like this time.

    like right now.

    like hell, yeah!

    aint that the truth KC?

    BWAHAHAHAHA

    October 23, 2008 at 7:32 am

  19. You think you’re slick? You’ll cave.

    October 23, 2008 at 7:39 am

  20. Joe

    Slicker than oil,
    faster than a bullet,
    Joe the barman,
    Has hit KC with a mullet.

    Nananana
    nananana
    he’s the bloody champ, all right
    nananana

    October 23, 2008 at 7:47 am

  21. I’ll give you credit for being faster. But don’t revel in success. It’s not over.

    October 23, 2008 at 8:00 am

  22. Joe

    success, for me, is the now factor.

    not the tomorrow or 600 yrs down the line factor.

    but i shall be nice and stop gloating.

    October 23, 2008 at 8:08 am

  23. oh no. I don’t take pity.

    October 23, 2008 at 8:14 am

  24. Joe

    too late.

    bwahahahaha

    October 23, 2008 at 8:19 am

  25. not really.

    October 23, 2008 at 8:41 am

  26. Glad to hear she’s doing okay!! 🙂

    How old is Lexi?

    October 25, 2008 at 12:41 pm

  27. Lexi will be two in Jan. That’s my daughter pictured with my husband’s Grandmom. She’ll be 23 in Feb.

    October 25, 2008 at 1:27 pm

  28. Hey Cap.
    Whats up with this shit head Joe and whats his problem ?
    Does he need his asshole re-upolstered ?

    October 25, 2008 at 3:32 pm

  29. I love ya, Mick. No problem, I can’t handle. but it’s good to know there’s always some one I can count on.

    October 25, 2008 at 3:45 pm

  30. I’ll be in the shadows, watching. 🙂

    October 25, 2008 at 6:59 pm

  31. I’m sure you’ll be watching with wide eyes. You’ll be the first I call if I need help. 😉

    October 26, 2008 at 12:41 am

  32. Yea, I’m a little anxious, political debates are brutal 10 days before the election.
    Fuckin roaches are comin out of everywhere.

    October 26, 2008 at 2:27 am

  33. Yea, I’m a little anxious, political debates are brutal 10 days before the election.
    Fuckin roaches are comin out of everywhere.

    October 26, 2008 at 2:28 am

  34. Joe

    Micky, I’d tell you to kiss my ass. But something tells me that it’s just the kinda thing you enjoy.

    Now, if you don’t mind, that convo’s between cappie and me. If you have that much time on your hands, I suggest you find your own business to mind.

    Or is that too much to ask?

    Likewise Cappie, if you would like me to leave the two of you to your own, just gimme the word and I’ll be gone.

    October 28, 2008 at 9:19 am

  35. Whoa horsey, no one is going anywhere.

    Mick and I go way back…to… um, January. We have a love hate relationship, right, Mick? You love me and you hate that you do.

    October 28, 2008 at 2:19 pm

  36. And besides, Joe, we have unfinished business.

    October 28, 2008 at 2:19 pm

  37. Joe.
    You ignorant slut.
    Cappy is my business whether you fuckin like it or not.
    She can handle her own, no doubt, but hey, shes my blog bitch batter when I need a pinch hitter.
    So please, go ahead, drop your shorts and let me kiss your ass.
    I climb up that bitch , come outta yer mouth and spit shit in yer face ya cum gargling fuck.

    October 28, 2008 at 9:02 pm

  38. Blog bitch batter, Mick, you”re making me blush over here. I’ve been called a lot of things but that, that’s just luuurve, right there. And you’re like the whole team I call on when I need a rouse. You pinch hitting pickle dick.

    October 28, 2008 at 10:03 pm

  39. Marinated, never pickled

    October 28, 2008 at 10:15 pm

  40. My bad.

    October 29, 2008 at 6:32 am

  41. Joe

    Micky,

    It’s hard to take you seriously given that you alias under a rat’s pseudonym.

    But then again, given how you can’t hold your own corner without eating and spitting shit from that sewer you call a mouth, i’m not surprised.

    Cappie,
    It don’t matter to me how much you go back, and I don’t see why Mr. Self-Proclaimed-Hugh-Hefner-of-Blogosphere here needs to intrude on my conversation with you. Unless of course, he’s itching for an e-fight, which i’m not gonna indulge him in anyway, cause im all about makin it to the peace corps y’know?

    October 29, 2008 at 1:58 pm

  42. Peace corps.
    Fuckin moonbats who like to go overseas and apologize for shit that America never did.

    “I’m so sorry I’m an American, how can I make it up to you?”

    Guess what dipshit ?
    Micky is actually my real name.
    Its actually more relative to the Micky I slip into peoples heads and fuck their shit all up.
    Congratulations on the mouse analogy Mr. Critcal Thinker.
    You’re the first to think of it.

    October 29, 2008 at 3:42 pm

Leave a Reply

