Life As I See It

Reading Is A Chore

The most significant and well known characteristic of Attention Deficit Disorder is, well, lack of attention and the ability to stay focused.  This poses a problem in everyday living, for example, driving, having conversations, staying on the task, finishing projects, trying to translate information from one place to another. 

The most difficult for me is reading.  Even a simple paragraph needs to be reread if there’s any kind of distraction around.  My mind needs to be cleared of all thoughts, which is hard these days.  So, I just don’t read.  And if I do read it needs to be really, really interesting, short and easy to read. 

I’m always looking for something that could hold my attention through the whole book, usually, I get half way through it, put it down and then forget about it.  I have so many unfinished books.

Last week I went to visit my sister in law and my niece had just received the third book from a series she’s been reading.  When I asked her about them she was so excited to tell me how good they were.  She said, I should read them.  “This book is 500 pages, I’ll never be able to read that.” 

She said, “Aunt Cappie, if I can read them anyone can.”

When she told me about the movie coming out next week based on the books, my attitude changed.  The previews I saw of the movie Twilight is about vampires and since Buffy the Vampire Slayer in my all time favorite, of course it sparked an interest. 

I was at my sisters over the weekend and the subject came up about the book.  She had just finished the first book and said it was good, so I borrowed it.  Needless to say, I’ve been reading it ever since and so far so good.  I’m hoping to have it done before the movie comes out but I doubt it. 

So run out today and get your copy of Twilight.  It’s really good.  The second book is New Moon, the third is Eclipse and the last is Breaking Dawn. 

A T.V. series would be great.  Don’t ya think?

15 responses

  1. col

    That thing ’bout reading, could you repeat it? I couldn’t quite follow.

    November 17, 2008 at 11:49 pm

  2. Joe

    Reading is a chore??

    that’s the first time im too stunned to eke out a reply.

    and that’s not a compliment.

    November 18, 2008 at 7:02 am

  3. I guess you don’t know too much about attention deficit. I read a lot a blogs and a lot of comments and everyone claims to have ADD. I don’t know them to judge them but it’s just not that simple. Trust me.

    And I don’t like to be made fun of for it.

    November 18, 2008 at 8:54 am

  4. Joe

    oh even i claim to have add. you have the real thing? my bad then. apologies.

    November 18, 2008 at 9:41 am

  5. Did you read this one yet

    And yes, I really do have it and most people don’t understand the impact it has on everyday living. It pisses me off when people say, “oh I have ADD, doesn’t everyone.”

    Sorry not everyone has ADD. They think because they’re impulsive or can’t pay attention or a little hyper they have ADD. WAY more to it then that.

    November 18, 2008 at 10:20 am

  6. Can I have ADD? It seems cooler than what I actually have which is “Low Asshole Tolerance” or LAT. It’s kind of like an allergy, but they don’t make a pill for it yet. Wait. Yes, they do. I think you’re supposed to take it with a grain of salt. 🙂

    November 19, 2008 at 1:21 pm

  7. Or a baseball bat. Just come out swinging works everytime.

    November 19, 2008 at 5:51 pm

  8. Windydarling writes like someone I miss – could it be…?

    November 19, 2008 at 8:13 pm

  9. Oh mamasan, you’re a wise one.

    November 19, 2008 at 8:46 pm

  10. Cappy – we need to go on a roadtrip! South, if you please!

    November 19, 2008 at 9:15 pm

  11. It only frigging took me 4 months to figure it out!

    November 19, 2008 at 9:16 pm

  12. It’s been that long? But you suspected? It’s funny how certain people are easy to read.

    November 19, 2008 at 9:48 pm

  13. windydarling: my, you’re familiar. I’d say your asshole tolerance is rather high, to be honest.

    November 19, 2008 at 11:59 pm

  14. ghost of keywork: Thank you.

    November 21, 2008 at 12:45 am

  15. No, no, thank you. Hope things are good on your end.

    November 21, 2008 at 10:43 pm

Leave a Reply

