Life As I See It

Hit And Run

You remember this, right?

Mini, calls me 15 minutes after leaving for work hysterical crying, I can’t understand a word she’s saying except for, ‘hit’.  “WHAT!”  I said. 

“lshfsl  shfslhj  lhslhfw  wlehlhw hrwslajier” Hysterically crying.

“WHAT?  I can’t understand a word you’re saying.  Stop crying.”

“Hit…never….turning lane….”

“Danielle, you need to calm down and tell me what you hit.”

“A man.”  She says.

“You hit a man? Where is he?  How fast were you going?  Oh.  My.  God.”

“I wasn’t going that fast,” she says still crying.  “I was getting over in the turning lane and he ran out in front of me.  There was a lady who witnessed it, she gave me her driver license number and phone number.” 

“Did you call the police?”  I asked.

“No, I got out of my car to help him up, I wanted to call the ambulance but he wouldn’t let me.  He kept saying that he was sorry he thought he had enough time to cross and then he took off.”

“What do you mean he took off?  Like you ran over a man with your car, he fell down and then got up and walked away?  Well, you better call the police just in case something happens.”  I said.

She is still crying uncontrollably, “Mom, I’m just worried about him being alright.  He was older and seemed…seemed a little slow…like retarded.  I never hit anything before except a deer.”

“Aw, Danielle that’s a sin.  Did he leave any souvenirs in your grill?”   

“No, but he put a big dent in the hood of my car.”

5 responses

  1. I know what you’re thinking, go ahead say it. Dooo eeet! You know I want to hear it. I’m just sick that way.

    December 2, 2008 at 8:30 am

  2. Matt Lesoine

    Well I’mm thinking that this post directly above the “Turkeys bounce” post leads me to surmise that perhaps the ‘short bus riders’ bounce too.

    It’s not funny; but in actuality it IS. The guy could have been killed/crippled/serially hurt. But he wasn’t. She should consider herself lucky/thankful/whatever and perhaps give the appropriate thanks to your divine being of choice.

    December 2, 2008 at 4:37 pm

  3. short bus riders, that’s the nice way of putting it. This would be a perfect post for spank to be in on. We all know she works with a lot of short bus riders.

    with all due respect, I hope he remembers what happened when he woke up this morning. He’s probably hurting.

    December 2, 2008 at 5:44 pm

  4. Joe

    last time i hit someone, he was on a bicycle, and i was driving my 4×4 down a mountain trail.

    i remember him falling over the edge, i remember lookin in my rearview mirror to see if he’d caught the edge and pulled himself up. which he didn’t.

    so i kept going.

    no point playing hero.. you never know what animals crawl around in there.

    December 3, 2008 at 10:46 am

  5. The last time? like you hit someone before?

    December 3, 2008 at 8:13 pm

Leave a Reply

