Life As I See It

Faith

Faith believes in something that is not based on proof, relying strictly on fact.  Faith believes in the teachings of religion.  Faith believes in God and His promise that all humans are saved through Jesus Christ and the scriptures.  Faith is relying on God’s trust. 

 p1010428

My daughter Danielle entered community college as a science major, thinking she would pursue a degree in pathology but soon changed to athletic training with a medical degree in sports medicine.  Have you ever talked to a science degree major with no background in the God industry?  It goes something like this.

“Mom, haven’t you heard of evolution?”

“Yeah, but….”

“Do you really think there is an invisible magic man sitting above the clouds saying, poof man is created?  We are created by organisms, blah, blah, blah…” 

You know how the speech goes.

“Yeah, but….God could have created the first organism.”

“Oh, please, you can’t expect me to believe that.  Show me proof.”

“Aunt Kimmy has proof.”

“No, she doesn’t.”

“So, you don’t believe in God?’

“Nope!”

My heart was crushed and I blamed myself for not bringing her up in a more Christian setting.  I’m not proud but I do respect her decision as, I don’t judge anyone for who they are.  At first, I thought it was a phase she was going through but as time went on things didn’t change and her opinions grew stronger and more personal. 

After four years at community college it was time for, Danielle, to move on and decided she would continue her education at South Florida University.  Her boyfriend talked her out it after, I cried for two weeks because she was taking my granddaughter so far away. 

Danielle now attends Eastern University.  And get this… Bwahahahaha, it’s a Christian school.  She chose this school because outside of Florida it had the best athletic training program in the area.  When she went for her interview she asked if her non belief in God would prevent her from attending Eastern and they told her no they couldn’t discriminate but she would have to fulfill the requirements with three religion classes. 

This is not a problem for, Danielle, since she likes to educate herself, even if it is about religion.   She loves her religion teacher but when he started preaching in class she confronted him with concern about what would be on the exams and the conflict of her belief.  He reassured her that the exams would come strictly from the text and her belief wouldn’t interfere.  Her first day of school, I received a text message that went like this;

If the teacher brings up the subject of God in Biology, just shoot me now. 

And the next message went;

I forgot that, I’m going to a Christian school on the main line; no one’s going to like the pink haired tattooed girl.  Help!

Oh, and they pray before every class, even dance class. (Yes, she’s my dancer but that’s for another post) And she has to read the bible.

I couldn’t be more proud.

3 responses

  1. windydarling

    But what about Faith Hill? How do you explain Faith Hill? HAH?

    January 25, 2009 at 10:40 pm

  2. windydarling

    Also, tell your girl that I said the Christians had damn well better be the ones getting to know the pink-haired tattooed girl FIRST and she can tell ’em I said it. And if they’ve got a problem with it, they are free to come to me and have their Christian heads banged together like coconuts. They don’t want none o’ this.

    January 25, 2009 at 10:47 pm

  3. The third day she came home so excited like a first grader being picked on half the year and said, “mommy, I made a friend, I was eating alone and some girl came up to me and asked if I would like to eat with her.”

    January 26, 2009 at 11:45 am

Leave a Reply

