Life As I See It

Is It Spring Yet? Summer?

Some people think when you’re born at a certain time of year you might enjoy that season more than other seasons.  Or, if they hear the term “hot blooded Italian” it’s true in every sense of the word and then if you add in some Irish not only are you hot blooded but you’re hot tempered, too.  Not that being hot tempered has anything to do with temperature but I thought I would just throw that in.   

Anyway, I was born in January and I’m Italian but neither is true if you go by what people may think.  Oh, I’m hot all right but I hate the cold weather and my tempers well, let’s just save that for another day.

Let’s talk about the weather, since it seems to be on every one’s agenda these days.  While, we’re waiting for spring to come, and actually it’s here but people don’t realize that rain and fifty is considered spring, it’s already unbearably hot elsewhere.  And in no time we’ll go from complaining about how cold it is to complaining how hot it is.  See, that’s the problem, no one is ever satisfied.  Me?  I have more important things to complain about other than the weather. 

As far back as I can remember winter never agreed with me.  I was always cold right down to the bones and even used a blanket in the summer months with no air conditioning.  Don’t get me wrong, I always enjoy a good snow storm, and still till this day, I will bundle up and play in the snow for hours.

What does summer mean to me?  Well, as I sit here wrapped in a blanket, staring out the window on this cold rainy day, I’m imagining sitting on the beach listening to the waves crashing on the sand or relaxing under the night sky sipping drinks with a friend.  Although, it’s not all about relaxing in the sun, it’s also about driving with the windows open, standing outside, catching up with neighbors from a long cold winter.  It’s about family barbecues, swimming, river rafting, vacations and tan lines.  It’s about longer days, the smell of cut grass, outdoor concerts, amusements parks and staying awake a little longer because there’s no pressure of school the next day.

So, as I sit here on this cold rainy day, I can only dream of what’s in store for this summer.  And instead of complaining, I will continue to hibernate and wait patiently for that first hot day when the only things I have to put on are shorts and a tank.

2 responses

  1. Hehe… If I had the beach… I won’t mind the summer…

    April 20, 2009 at 4:07 pm

  2. It sounds like you need a swimming pool.

    April 20, 2009 at 10:06 pm

Leave a Reply

