Life As I See It

People Have Some Nerve

“Good afternoon, Cappie speaking.”

“May I speak to someone in charge of payroll?”

“That would be me.”

“Hi, my name is John Smith from the Chambers of Commerce.  We offer a wide variety of payroll services, we take care of all tax related documents and we take full responsibility on all the work that is done.”

“I’m sorry, we’re a very small company and I take care of payroll.”

“Well, that’s okay, we handle many small companies.  We can handle accounts with two employees even one employee if necessary.”

“But if you take over the payroll then I won’t have a job.”

“I’m sure you have other things to keep you busy.”

“Well…yeees…but you’re still gonna take my job.”

“Not really, you’ll still have your job, right?”

“I’m sorry, I really don’t think my boss is going to pay for a service that he is already paying me for.  It just doesn’t make sense.  Sorry.”

Are people really that hard up for employment? I mean, he was ready to snatch my work right out from under my fingers.  Little prick.  I sat on the chair for a minute with my mouth open thinking… Did I really have this conversation?

I felt like I was waiting for a parking spot for five minutes at Christmas time and with a blink of an eye someone swooped in and took my space.  Grrr…  And he wouldn’t take no for an answer. 

Fucker.

4 responses

  1. How come you didn’t pour molten fire down the telephone line and cackle in delight while his end of the reciever exploded into a ball of flame and consumed him and all of his kind?

    June 17, 2009 at 2:16 am

  2. I was fresh out of molten fire, all I had was an attitude that gave him a hint, I was quite annoyed.

    June 17, 2009 at 6:47 am

  3. does the poor sod have any idea as to how lucky he is to get off so lightly?

    June 18, 2009 at 12:40 am

  4. Should of told him your boss only pays in doughnuts, and you’re the hole.

    July 9, 2009 at 6:20 pm

Leave a Reply

