Life As I See It

Signs, Signs Everywhere Are Signs

I’m a fabulous driver.  I am, really.  I mean, I’ve had my fair share of tickets and accidents but I now know exactly where I can speed, which stop signs I can roll through and where all the cops sit.  I think that warrants me a good driver. 

 It’s all about not getting caught and learning how to cry and beg when you do.  Although, there are certain rules of the road that absolutely, under no circumstances, shouldn’t be broken.  And that would be school zones and any place where children are present.  That is where cops should be sitting when someone behind you is honking their horn for you to go faster and when you don’t they speed up to past you.   People have some nerve. 

Even though signs are posted telling people the speed limit is 35 mph, most people are gonna go 45 or 50, it’s a given.  Townships even use big digital tracking signs that say POLICE, to let people know how fast they are going, just to slow down traffic.  Does it work?  I don’t think so.

I was driving my usual route to work one morning, a residential road with a speed limit of 25 mph, where speed traps are constantly set up and no one follows the law even with a cop present.  I was doing  my usual 36.5 mph, when I looked ahead and saw a yellow sign with black writing on it, sticking out of ground in someone front yard.  PLEASE SLOW DOWN, is what it read.  Do you know that did more for me than the cop sitting on the side of road? 

It’s amazing what the power of kindness does to people.  It only took one word, one little word, for me to respond to something I should have been doing all along.   Maybe if more people were kind we would live in a much better place.

7 responses

  1. Sometimes I speed. I admit it. I try not to speed in school zones and residential neighborhoods. Highways and freeways are fair game, though.
    Sometimes the word PLEASE makes all the difference, huh, Cappy?

    June 22, 2009 at 9:06 pm

  2. Some stop signs in the same township have a little sign below it saying, complete stop free, rolling stop $109.50. Boy did I stop for that one. How smart is that?

    June 23, 2009 at 6:44 am

  3. I’m better than you.
    I was getting my dick sucked while shooting a bag of crank up my arm while going 85 in a 50 zone and stuck my arm out the window, waved at the cop with the needle hanging from my arm, kept going, no ticket.
    The chick blowing me asked me who I waved at, told her it was a cop, she asked me to please slow down, so I did.

    July 9, 2009 at 6:19 pm

  4. Wow, that’s some talent ya got there. So…what you’re saying is, it doesn’t matter where it comes from, the word please, is very powerful.

    July 9, 2009 at 9:38 pm

  5. I’m a fan of the positive/negative messages in life.

    “Hey, you are doing a great job driving over the speed limit, and you look really great doing it, but what I really need you to do is slow the fuck down before that cop up ahead issues you a ticket.”

    At any rate, I passed The Hard Way along to a friend who passed it along, who passed it along, and so forth. Can you send your copy to gym with Danielle? With my insane schedule, the next time I hit a bookstore will be that one day I go Christmas shopping the third week in December.

    …I’m inching my way to a post.

    July 9, 2009 at 10:35 pm

  6. Well yeah, that was just to keep from blowin a hole in the back of her head. I kept going 85

    July 10, 2009 at 1:22 am

  7. Yeah, that’s pretty much how it goes and the last time someone motioned there hand for me to slow down, I stopped my car and said, “I don’t know what school you went to but where I went, a 2 and 5 together is 25 and that’s the speed limit I was going. I don’t need to live in Narberth to know what the speed limit is and I sure as hell don’t need a bumper sticker telling me so.”

    Guess you can tell it was a bad morning.

    Post damn it.

    July 10, 2009 at 7:11 am

Leave a Reply

