Life As I See It

Today, I Found A Friend In A Friend

I can remember being a little girl, sitting on the front steps watching the trash truck struggling to get up the hill, I use to live on.  Right then and there, I secretly wanted to be a trash man when I grew up.  I don’t think it was the job itself but about the guy who hung off the back of the truck, holding on with one hand and the other, waving in the wind as the truck started to move faster.   

I knew I wouldn’t be a trash man when I grew up but I also knew that I wouldn’t be a doctor, either.  I didn’t want to get married.  I didn’t want to have children.  I didn’t want to settle down; I wanted to be a free spirit traveling around the country from one city to the next, doing odd jobs just to get by.  I wanted to meet new people, learn new things and experience life like no other could.  

I sit here today, trying to get back just a small piece of my childhood and this weekend, I reconnected with my blood sister of 35 years. 

Back in March, my daughter and I took a road trip to Tennessee.  After reconnecting with an old friend on face book and finding out she lived in Tennessee, we stopped in to visit her, for the night.  We were best friends in elementary school but moving on from there we grew apart.  Other, than the occasional bathroom meetings in high school the last time, I saw her was five years ago, at our reunion.   I hung out with her the whole night and swore, I would keep in touch.  But, people change, things change, so the mail never started.  That night, in Tennessee, for just a few short hours, I knew things didn’t change much and I kept my promise this time to keep in touch. 

She came home for Thanksgiving and I insisted on seeing her and for a moment, with all the family to see at the holidays, I didn’t think it would be possible.  But there was a small opportunity Friday night, before she had dinner with her mom and then Saturday night, when she invited me to hang out with her and her friends at her hotel. 

The thing about old friends is you always talk about what happened then and we didn’t.  We talked about new things and the things we have in common now. 

Who would have guessed that, 35, years ago, after cutting our fingers with soda can tops and smearing our blood together, would keep us sisters all these years.

…blood sisters.

18 responses

  1. taur1966

    Wow, very honored to be reading this post! Coming from someone who has never had a sister at all, it truly is moving to get to be a “blood sister”….we had so much fun this past weekend! You helped make my trip a very meaningful and enjoyable one…..for once, I went home not feeling stressed out and wondering why I drove all that way. I left in a great state of mind. You really CAN come home again! xoxo

    December 2, 2009 at 4:53 pm

  2. It’s a weird psychic connection, I have with certain people and you’re one of them. I didn’t realize it until that night in March. Like, I say everything happens for a reason.

    Not too many people get me. I mean really, really get me.

    I’m honored, too. It was probably your brother’s fault when he scared the shit out of us banging on the bedroom window.

    December 2, 2009 at 5:14 pm

  3. Monty

    Why the window? And what’s the window made of – reinforced bulletproof glass that it could hold two women on it?

    December 3, 2009 at 12:18 am

  4. First of all we weren’t women, we were girls…little girls, 5th grade little girls. When I slept at her house one night her brother from the next room climbed out on the roof and tapped on the window with a golf club. Scared the living shit out of us.

    December 3, 2009 at 8:41 am

  5. Should, I tell you the time she had a sleep over birthday party and we tickled someone so hard that she peed on someone. On purpose.

    December 3, 2009 at 8:42 am

  6. Ah hah !

    Sleepovers huh ?

    December 3, 2009 at 9:32 pm

  7. They guy who cut the finger of the guy who stabbed me in the ass that I went to school with as a kid for 10 years and brought me that finger while I was in the hospital called me the other day after 20 years.

    Yeah, I know the feeling, I’m happy for you

    December 3, 2009 at 9:34 pm

  8. Did you have a sleepover, too?

    December 3, 2009 at 10:34 pm

  9. Jail

    December 3, 2009 at 11:56 pm

  10. So, I guess his 20 year sleep over was over and he called you? It’s nice talking to friends you haven’t talked to in years.

    so what did he have to say, “I have a toe for ya.”

    December 4, 2009 at 8:25 am

  11. He lives in Texas now, we went to junior high and elemetary together the caught up with each other in San Diesgo when we were about 23 years old. That was when I beat the shit outta this guy for raping one of my customers at a party. He came back with his friends and a stilleto (bayonette) and tried to stab me in the back but I blocked it and it went into my ass, 8 inches deep. If the vice squad hadnt been there ( Red light district down town S.D.) I would be dead, they stopped the bleeding.
    I wont tell you exactly how we pulled it all off because some cop could be reading this.

    yeah, what happened was he found out that I was trying to find him but at the time I had no paypal to get his number. But somehow he found out I was trying to contact him and he called me a couple weeks ago.

    Last time I spoke to him was about 20 years ago and I was drunk the night before Christmas trying to borrow money from him for gifts.
    He was pretty happy to see where I’m at now considering the image I left him with 20 years ago.
    Its a true friend who’ll whack off fingers for you and call you after 20 years.
    We grew up stealing motorcycles together, blowing up shit with home made bombs, goosing chicks at the college. In San Diego we were doing repos for drug dealers who got burned, growing our own weed, smuggling from Mexico.

    Not the guys that you wanted to piss off.

    December 4, 2009 at 3:06 pm

  12. micky

    “I can remember being a little girl, sitting on the front steps watching the trash truck struggling to get up the hill, I use to live on.”

    yeah, I can imagine that living on a garbage truck would definately infuence ones upbringing.

    “Right then and there, I secretly wanted to be a trash man when I grew up.”

    Which is why you’re now a dumpster ho ?

    Happy Monday

    🙂

    December 7, 2009 at 1:18 pm

  13. It’s always nice to start my Monday knowing, I’m a dumpster ho.

    I wonder what tomorrow will bring?

    December 7, 2009 at 2:56 pm

  14. Be Happy, I imagine it couldnt get any worse than that unless they clean up the dumpster and not the ho. Something like that happening could breed some serious self esteem issues.
    I always used to dab a little pine sol behind my ears when I was feeling down

    December 7, 2009 at 5:33 pm

  15. Nice post. What I like about meeting friends from an age gone by: There are no awkward silences, it’s always comfortable comforting silences that fill the gap.

    December 10, 2009 at 4:43 pm

  16. That’s true as long as the friend is someone you connected with in the past. I’ve ran into people, I went to school with and it was just, “Hi, how are you?” And you feel like you want to say more but there is just nothing there. Maybe there wasn’t any time to chat, I don’t know.

    December 11, 2009 at 8:26 am

  17. Yeah you know, admit it.

    That person no longer has any value in your life and you dont want go thru the awkward linguistics of seeming nice but not commiting to any future enagements.
    The party was over 20 years ago asshole, forget it, move on. I’ve got a life now that you wouldnt fit into,… beat it.

    December 13, 2009 at 10:46 pm

  18. You’re exactly right but not the this particular girl. We’re blood sisters.

    December 14, 2009 at 8:40 am

Leave a Reply

