Life As I See It

Angels On The Moon

Today, February 6th, should be a significant day for me but since I don’t celebrate death it’s one day I would like to forget. 

You never can prepare yourself for the death of a loved one.  The pain is still the same whether they die suddenly or suffer for months with an illness.  It’s been 17 years and I can still hear him whistling, as he did so much, when working around the house.  I still expect to cook him his favorite dinner on his birthday.  I still see him so fresh in my mind that sometimes it doesn’t even feel like he’s gone. I miss him just as much today as I did the day he died.  He was an inspiration to his family and to people around him. 

I was very close with my father, growing up.  You could say that I was the son he never had.  I was the one that followed him around with a tool belt, getting my hands dirty and digging in the dirt.  I was the one that ran out to the front of the house to greet him when I heard his truck coming down the street.    I watched TV with him, I played cards with him and I sat next to him in the gun room while he prepared for his next hunting trip. 

We shared clams on a half shell.  We shared pickled pigs feet.  We shared the same love for the mountain air.  Where ever he was, I was.  I’m the one who reflects his most amazing qualities.  I’m the one that follows in his footsteps. 

He was my father, a hero in my eyes. I looked up to him and could always count on him when I needed him most.

Some people would say he looked like Paul Newman, either way he was always a star in my eyes.

3 responses

  1. my dad passed in 2000. More often than not I find myself telling my 14 year old much of what he told me growing up. This is what marks a manslegacy. The handing down of his wisdom. Be it the forefathers of our country or our own daddy these are the gifts that life gives that we take so much for granted until that one day comes when you remember the lessons to be attatched to that instance in life.
    Had it not of been for those passed on words of wisdom I’d probably not be writing this. Worth is not determined by what we were, but by what we are after our passing.
    I’ll toss a note in your dads box for ya

    February 7, 2010 at 3:37 pm

  2. It’s amazing how you always say the right things at the right time.

    February 8, 2010 at 2:24 pm

  3. were all very special, but not that different

    February 8, 2010 at 8:13 pm

Leave a Reply

