Life As I See It

Friends

A few days ago a friend emailed me and wanted me to call.  It was short and just said things weren’t going well could you please give me a call. 

Regardless of whether it’s a childhood friend or a friend you haven’t talked to in a while or a friend you haven’t even met if it’s a true friend most likely you’re gonna call.  Not because you nosy and want to know what’s going on but because you genuinely care.  And I care. 

Ever since that phone call I’ve been thinking of just the right words to say.  And there has been a lot twirling around up there but nothing that really comes together.  On my way home from the store today this song came on the radio and I thought, wow this really says it all.

So here’s to you, my friend

I hope the day will be a lighter highway
For friends are found on every road
Can you ever think of any better way
For the lost and weary travellers to go

Making friends for the world to see
Let the people know you got what you need
With a friend at hand you will see the light
If your friends are there then everything’s all right

It seems to me a crime that we should age
These fragile times should never slip us by
A time you never can or shall erase
As friends together watch their childhood fly

2 responses

  1. micky

    How very sweet of you.
    I’m a big Elton fan, have been since the 70s and the song is very fitting for what you’re saying.
    You’re friend is a very lucky person

    March 30, 2010 at 9:43 pm

  2. I think I’m kinda lucky, also.

    March 30, 2010 at 10:36 pm

Leave a Reply

